Panel sizes may vary among categories – and from year to year – depending on the perceived workload required and the availability of judges for a particular category. However, each panel will consist of at least three judges, one of which will be the panel convenor.

Judges are volunteers and are drawn from the speculative fiction community; from diverse professions and backgrounds, and may include academics, booksellers, librarians, published authors, publishing industry professionals, reviewers and enthusiasts. The only qualification necessary is a demonstrated knowledge of and interest in their chosen category.

Being an Aurealis Awards judge involves reading entries in a category, which may comprise several dozen novels and/or more than a hundred short stories in the process of evaluating the year’s entries. Judges may keep their reading copies of entries.

It is vital that judges be able to work as part of a team and meet stringent deadlines. Most of the judges’ discussions are conducted via an online forum or email.

All discussions are confidential between the judges in each panel and the judging coordinator and/or the Aurealis Awards management team, as required. The Aurealis Awards judging coordinator will have no input into these decisions unless a panel of judges is unable to reach a consensus.

Judges from previous Aurealis Awards processes are welcome – indeed encouraged – to re-apply. But, in the interests of transparency and impartiality, no one may judge the same category for more than two consecutive years, and a break of two consecutive years is required before a judge can reapply to be a judge in that particular category again.

When judging application numbers make it possible, we split categories across multiple judging panels, for example, one for novels and one for short stories in a particular genre. Categories with traditionally small entry figures may be combined.

All judges for the Aurealis Awards will accept works electronically and will each nominate their preferred electronic file format. We strongly encourage submission of files in epub and mobi formats, although print, or rtf, doc and pdf files may be accepted.

The winner of the Convenors’ Award for Excellence will be reached by a consensus of the convenors of each of the judging panels.

Aurealis Awards finalists and winners in each category are selected by our judges.

2022 Judging Panels

Judging Coordinator: Tehani Croft, assisted by Joanne Anderton
Horror Novel  
Georgina Banfield  
JM Merryt  
Glenn George  
Celia Pearce  
Nathan Phillips Convenor
Horror Novella  
Jake Corvus Convenor
Anna Hepworth  
Aimee Murphy  
Donella Reed  
Yunn-Yu (Christine) Sun  
Horror Short Story  
Caitlin Chisholm Convenor
Charmaine Clancy  
Roslyn Phillips  
Marija Sijakovska  
Christine Titheradhe  
Anthologies / Collections (two categories)
Susan Beasley  
Emma Cutting  
Mark Phillips  
Cathie Tasker Convenor
Illustrated Work / Graphic Novel  
Eugen Bacon Convenor
Sarah Custace  
Christopher Marcatili  
T R Napper  
Lucas Palermo  
Fantasy Short Story  
Paula Boer Convenor
Ben Dominish  
Natalie Haigh  
Cary Lenehan  
Allister Smith  
Sarah Swarbrick  
Fantasy Novella  
Olivia Carter  
Deb Gates Convenor
Raymond Hodgson  
Elizabeth Robinson-Griffith  
Rebecca Sutherland  
Science Fiction Short Story  
Dianne De Bellis Convenor
Nick Hartland  
Amy Laurens  
Mark Lingane  
Wen Moore  
Darren Nash  
Science Fiction Novella  
Deborah Brown  
Paul Cormack  
Irene Davy  
Alexandra Pierce Convenor
Lynda Young  
Fantasy Novel  
Finn Barz  
Elizabeth Fitzgerald Convenor
Stephen Hipkiss  
Heidi Kneale  
Ruth Lawlor  
Science Fiction Novel  
Lorraine Cormack  
Mark Fazackerley Convenor
Marian Foster  
Jan-Andrew Henderson  
Paul Voermans  
Children’s Fiction  
Miffy Farquharson Convenor
Ky Garvey  
Emily Meredith  
Bron Swasbrick  
Young Adult Novel  
Bethany Barrass  
Jess Drake  
Stephanie Gunn Convenor
Martha Itzcovitz  
Emilie Morscheck  
Young Adult Short Story  
Debbie Berger  
Jess Gately Convenor
Melanie Ifield  
Samara Lo  
Louise Nice